Exposing Our Children to Music of the World

29-bongo-drums-705x380By Debra B. McCraw

My mom loves to tell the story of the first Bar Mitzvah I attended, which was essentially my first time in a temple. I must have been eight or nine years old. When the congregation began singing its first song, I joined right in. I had never spoken a word of Hebrew, I didn’t know what the words meant, and I hadn’t sung the songs before, but I sang proudly and followed along. I grew up attending Catholic mass and loved to sing there, so this was not much of a leap other than the new language.

Children have an affinity for languages, and when they are exposed to world music at an early age, they feel more comfortable and confident participating in song and dance. As we grow older and have fewer of these opportunities, we may shy away from trying. While adults may view songs in other languages as difficult to learn, children pick them up quite easily.

It may seem contradictory, but hearing and practicing other languages actually enhances one’s competency of his native tongue, so toddlers who are just beginning to speak can gain so much from learning songs from other lands.

In terms of social development, multicultural music gives children a glimpse into the wide world that surrounds them. They begin to understand diversity while also finding similarities in the songs that children across the globe sing and the dances they dance.

All of the Music Together collections include music from a variety of cultures, and the Bongos collection is no different.

Several songs this session are sung in different languages:

  • “Hotaru Koi” is a traditional Japanese folksong with a simple yet beautiful five-note melody. The Japanese word for firefly is “hotaru,” and this song’s name means “come over here, fireflies!”
  • “Li’l ‘Liza Jane/Funga Alafia” is a Nigerian welcoming song that says, “I welcome you with my voice, my head and my heart. I welcome you with peace.” The African drumming song gives children the opportunity to experiment with movement and instruments, as well as their voice.
  • “Palo, Palo” is a longtime favorite that may be familiar to some of you. The Caribbean dance song will get everyone on their feet!

Some English-language songs in the collection exhibit cultural diversity as well:

  • The Irish jig “Mountain Dew” includes what some might call “jibberish” – sounds that don’t necessarily make up words. When we use these sounds, we have the opportunity to really focus on the rhythm and the tune.
  • “Train Is A-Comin’” may be an American song, but the Gospel genre has many unique characteristics when compared to other American folk music. It’s not only how the music sounds, but what the song means that makes it stand out.

So as we kick off the new session, don’t be surprised if your child jumps right in and begins singing in Japanese, Yoruba (the language of Nigeria), Spanish, or jibberish. When she does, be sure to follow along!

Leave a comment